More on the Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a time limit the state sets that dictates how much time you have to file a lawsuit. The statute of limitations varies for different types of cases. In Nebraska, you have four years to file a personal injury lawsuit. Once that window has closed, the court won't even hear out your case and your chances of receiving any type of compensation will be lost.
The statute of limitations is only two years if you're filing a claim against the state of Nebraska.
More on Liability: Sharing Fault
Because of Nebraska's modified comparative fault rule, when you share fault in the injury, your award can be reduced or eliminated completely. How much you receive is based on the degree to which you were at fault. Whatever percentage the court deems is your fault will be the percentage that's deducted from your award.
For example, if your total award is $10,000 but the court finds that 15% of the injury was due to an action or negligence on your part, then your award will be reduced to $8,500.
If the injury is 50% your fault or more, then you won't receive any type of award.